2013 The Sequel of Sequels

Specialty AwardsGenre AwardsPlatform AwardsGame of the Year
Sequel of Sequels

Assassin’s Creed IV
More than any other sequel this year, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag improved upon its predecessor’s faults in such a definitive manner that it not only set a new standard for the series but also restored interest in a struggling franchise. The introduction of an open, water-filled world brought an enormous emphasis on exploration and freedom, and the swashbuckling combat was better than ever. With beautiful graphics and wonderful animations across platforms, as well as a more lighthearted tone throughout, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is not only a great Assassin’s Creed game, but a truly spectacular gaming experience.

Continue to Best Reboot →