Nintendo Will Not Hold A Press Conference at E3 2014

E3 2014 is almost a month away at this point. We’re at the point now where the major publishers begin announcing their plans for the show. Today, we’ve found out Nintendo’s plans, which will not include a press conference.

Nintendo has opted out of a press conference for a second year in a row in favor of a digital event streamed online. The event airs Tuesday June 10 at 9am PT/12pm ET/5pm GMT. It will reveal and provide detail about upcoming and future games releasing on the 3DS and Wii U throughout 2014 and beyond. Essentially, this is a press conference, but without the fanfare and live audience.

Nintendo will also be hosting a Super Smash Bros. Invitational Tournament at E3. Top-ranked players will be invited to compete with the matches streamed online. The “Nintendo Treehouse: Live @ E3” will stream game demos during all hours of the show.

This is the second year in a row that Nintendo has opted out of holding a press conference. Last year they held a special E3 2013 Nintendo Direct episode, which paled in comparison to Sony and Microsoft’s press conferences. This was mostly thanks to the exciting debuts of the PS4 and Xbox One. Whether opting out of a press conference this year is a good idea remains to be seen.

E3 2014 will take place June 10-12. Check out Nintendo’s E3 2014 plans below: