EA Sports Predicts 2014 World Cup Winner

Electronic Arts Inc. today predicted that Germany will win the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil. Using the EA Sports football engine that drives EA Sports 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil on the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360, EA was able to simulate the 2014 FIFA World Cup and test all 32 teams under the same conditions they will face in the weeks ahead in Brazil.

It was determined that Germany will defeat Brazil 2-1 (ET) on July 13 to win the country’s fourth FIFA World Cup, becoming the first European nation to win the FIFA World Cup on South American soil. You may also remember, four years ago at the last World Cup tournament, EA Sports accurately predicted that Spain would prevail as the tournament champions as well.

Here is the full list of predicted outcomes from the final:

  • World Champion: Germany
  • World Cup Final: Germany 2 Brazil 1 (in extra-time)
  • Golden Boot winner: Neymar da Silva Santos Júnior (Brazil), 6 goals
  • Golden Ball winner: Neymar da Silva Santos Júnior
  • Best Goal: Andrés Iniesta vs. England

In the EA SPORTS simulation, the Final itself was an epic battle, as Brazil squared off against Germany in a repeat of the 2002 World Cup Finals. Brazil got off to an impressive start, overwhelming Germany with their skill and speed. The early pressure paid off, as Neymar found space behind the German backline and beat Manuel Neuer one-on-one, making him the tournament’s top scorer in the process with at total of 6 goals.  As the game continued, however, the Germans settled down and began to find their rhythm, and late in the match, Per Mertesacker would tie up the score for Germany with a header from a well-delivered corner kick.  Brazilian dreams of a fairytale finish in their homeland were crushed in extra-time when a substitute, Miroslav Klose, reacted first to a loose ball and scored from close range, writing himself into the virtual history books as the FIFA World Cup’s all-time top scorer (16 goals).

The full simulation of the tournament game results went as follows:

Final: Brazil 1 – 2 Germany (ET)
3rd Place Game: Portugal 1 – 3 Spain

Semi Finals
Brazil 1 – 0 Portugal
Spain 0 – 0 Germany (Germany 5-4 pens)

Quarter Finals
Brazil 2 – 2 Uruguay (Brazil 4-3 pens)
Portugal 4 – 3 Nigeria
England 0 – 2 Spain
Germany 2 – 1 Argentina

Round of 16
Brazil 3 – 1 Netherlands
Ivory Coast 2 – 3 Uruguay
France 0 – 1 Nigeria
Portugal 2 – 0 Russia
Spain 3 – 1 Mexico
England 1 – 1 Columbia (England 4-3 pens)
Argentina 2 – 0 Ecuador
Belgium 1 – 2 Germany

Now I’m not a betting man, but if I were, maybe I’d throw a couple bucks down on Germany, because you never know, this just might become a reality. It’ll be interesting to see how this plays out in the weeks to come, and if EA Sports has correctly predicted another winner.