PSN Going Offline for Four Hours of Maintenance on January 15

Sony has confirmed that the PlayStation Network will be taken offline for four hours on January 15 for scheduled maintenance. It will begin at 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm GMT, and end approximately four hours later.

During the time of scheduled maintenance you will not have access to the PS Store, PSN account management, registration and entertainment services, and online gameplay. However, there is a way to get around the maintenance and play your online games. If you’re connected to the PSN before the maintenance begins, then you can continue playing without fear of being kicked off.

While a bummer that we’re getting kicked off of PSN for so long, this could ultimately be a good thing. After last month’s DDOS attack that overwhelmed Sony’s servers and crashed PSN for days, any maintenance the company can perform to better prepare themselves for these types of attacks is a good thing.