Liu Kang is the 24th and Final Mortal Kombat X Character

The final character slot for Mortal Kombat X has been filled by none other than Liu Kang. The shaolin monk best known for his bicycle kicks, turning into a dragon, and high-pitched screams was accidentally revealed in today’s Kombat Pass DLC announcement. Beware, there will be Mortal Kombat 2011 spoilers beyond this point.

Here is all the content coming with the Kombat Pass:

  • The Ultimate Horror Pack:
    • Playable character Jason Voorhees
    • Horror skins Vampiress Mileena, Kraken Reptile and Pharaoh Ermac
  • The Klassic Pack #1:
    • Playable character Tanya
    • Klassic skins for Kano, Sonya and Liu Kang
  • The Predator / Prey Pack
    • Playable character Predator
    • Predator-themed skins Commando Johnny, Infrared Scorpion and Carl Weathers as Jax
  • The Klassic Pack #2
    • Playable character, Tremor
    • Klassic skins for Quan Chi, Jax and Kung Lao

Liu Kang’s presence makes him the 24th character, which fills up the entire roster. In Mortal Kombat 2011, Liu Kang was accidentally killed by Raiden. You see, Liu Kang wanted to defeat Shao Kahn before EarthRealm and Outworld merged, but Raiden insisted that Kahn had to break the rules to be permanently defeated. They fought, and in the end, Liu Kang died. Perhaps he’ll be the new villain? His Mortal Kombat 2011 ending hinted at such a thing, and he was a zombie in Mortal Kombat: Deception and Armageddon. Guess we’ll find out soon enough.

Mortal Kombat X is out April 14 on PS4, Xbox One, and PC. The PS3 and Xbox 360 versions were delayed into summer. Now, here are all the playable characters (characters in bold are brand new to the franchise):

Cassie Cage D’Vorah Ermac Erron Black
Ferra/Torr Goro (Pre-Order) Jacqueline Briggs Jason Voorhees (DLC)
Jax Johnny Cage Kano Kenshi
Kitana Kotal Kahn Kung Jin Kung Lao
Liu Kang Mileena Predator (DLC) Quan Chi
Raiden Reptile Scorpion Shinnok
Sonya Blade Sub-Zero Takeda Tanya (DLC)
Tremor (DLC)