Geoff Keighley Confirms ‘Ten World Premieres’ for The Game Awards 2015

The Game Awards host Geoff Keighley confirmed on Tuesday that this year’s video game awards ceremony is set to have “ten world premieres.”

Keighley, who previously worked on the Spike Video Game Awards (later rebranded as VGX), made the announcement on Twitter, revealing that he’s structured the show to have ten world premieres and ten onstage awards to be presented.

The Game Awards, which was the replacement for the VGAs, had a whole string of world premieres featured at the inaugural event at The AXIS auditorium in Las Vegas last year, with games such as Until Dawn, The Order: 1886 and Lara Croft and the Temple of Osiris having new footage showcased.

Earlier this month, it was confirmed that The Game Awards would be held at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California, on December 3. Similar to last year’s event, The Game Awards 2015 will be available on multiple streaming services, including YouTube and Twitch.

The Game Awards 2015

Chvrches and deadmau5 confirmed as the main music acts for The Game Awards 2015. Image credit: Geoff Keighley

The 2014 Game Awards had entertainment coming in the form of live music from Grammy award-winning rock band Imagine Dragons and illustrious Nintendo composer Koji Kondo (The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and Star Fox 64).

It seems that The Game Awards 2015 will carry on this trend of live entertainment, as Keighley announced on his Twitter feed that he’s secured the services of two well-known musicians: Chvrches and deadmau5.

Deadmau5, real name Joel Thomas Zimmerman, is “working on something very special” for the event, according to Keighley.

The 2015 Game Awards’ full list of nominees were also revealed this month, with CD Projekt RED’s The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt leading the charge with seven nominations and also five titles competing for the Game of the Year award: Bloodborne, Fallout 4, Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain, Super Mario Maker and The Witcher 3.

For more on The Game Awards, be sure to check out the full list of winners from the 2014 event and stay turned to Hardcore Gamer for all of the latest coverage from the 2015 ceremony.