Hideo Kojima Will Not be Attending The Game Awards 2018

Hideo Kojima today announced that he would not be in attendance at The Game Awards 2018.

The 55-year-old Japanese developer confirmed the news on Twitter after wishing The Game Awards’ creator and host, Geoff Keighley, his best wishes for the show.

The famed Metal Gear Solid creator was one of the presenters at last year’s show, as well as receiving the Industry Icon Award in 2016.

The Game Awards 2018

Geoff Keighley replied to Hideo Kojima’s tweet.

The Game Awards 2018

The Game Awards’ Twitter account responded to Kojima’s tweet, too.

Since the release of Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain, Kojima has severed his ties with Konami and founded his own independent studio, Kojima Productions.

In his post-Metal Gear era, the developer is working with Sony Interactive Entertainment on the highly anticipated Death Stranding.

The PlayStation 4 title, which has not received a release window or launch date, has an ensemble cast that includes Norman Reedus, Mads Mikkelsen, Léa Seydoux, Troy Baker, Lindsay Wagner, Emily O’Brien and Tommie Earl Jenkins.

With Kojima ruled out of attendance for the show, it raises doubts that fans will be treated to further details or a new teaser for his upcoming title.

The Game Awards 2018 will be held today at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. Keighley’s ceremony will have a pre-show starting at 8:30 p.m. EST/5:30 p.m. PST, with the actual show kicking off at 9 p.m. EST/6 p.m. PST.

For all of the latest news from The Game Awards, stay tuned to Hardcore Gamer throughout the show.


Editor’s note (12/16/18): Hardcore Gamer has amended this story to include screenshots of tweets that were previously embedded, but weren’t showing up correctly. The rest of the story remains the same.